Send Topic Print
Total Beginner (Read 5783 times)
Mungrin
YaBB Newbies

I love YaBB 1G -
SP1!

Total Beginner
10/12/4 at 14:23:46

well here i am i just got my g2 as of about june... ive been interested in rallying for years and years, bought an rx-7 fixed it up and am now selling it to look for a rallying car. my personal thoughts are to buy a 92 VW golf, since i already have a parts car for it and they are decent to rally with and cheap to maintain. I plan on going to the tall pines rally, but to volunteer and get to know much more about the sport. I also hear there is an annual rally school or something? i read it off the forums... any help with anything to help me get on my feet would be much appreciated. and sorry about the eye sore

Mungrin
  IP Logged
Nikola

Geeksters Rallying

Re: Total Beginner
Reply #1 - 10/12/4 at 14:30:25

Heya Mungrin:)

Looks like you're all set, and with way more info then I had when I first became interested:). Volunteering is a great way to get involved, and Tall Pines Rally is sure to be educational.

There are still a few Navigational (or Road / TSD) rallies left this year I believe, which are also quite a bit of fun, and certainly challenging enough for a new driver & navigator (assuming you haven't practiced things with your G2 that you weren't supposed to Wink). MLRC Mini-rallies are over, but over on www.rallysport.on.ca you can find a list of upcoming regional road rallies, including one on October 30th and one on November 13th.

In terms of performance rallying, there is the RallyCross event this weekend in Bancroft. It'll be my own first performance experience, so assuming I don't break anything, it sounds like a great intro to the excitement of the sport. Not sure if G2 license is an issue though...