Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Maple Leaf Rally Club

HomeHelpSearchLoginRegister  

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Natural progression of a novice rallyist (Read 4209 times)
fweidner
YaBB Newbies

I love YaBB 1G -
SP1!

Natural progression of a novice rallyist
03/17/7 at 09:40:19

I think rallying is like fishing.

Step #:

1 When you're three years old you are happy catching a minnow

2.  When you're six, you're happy catching sun fish

3  Next, it's got to be a 2 lb bass

4  Next, it's got to be a 15lb walleye to get a rush

5  Next it's ocean fishing for Marlin to be happy

6  etc., etc.

Being a total novice in rallying,  I think I share the same progession as most other rallyists

1.  rally fan or arm chair athelete

2   get involved in helping out at a rally club, etc.

3   buy a car, fun just to drive twisty roads, emphasis on seat time rather than competition

4   get more involved, co-driving, driving in nagivational events.  Start with mini-rally, navigational rally school, etc.

5    try rally-X

6    try more challenging road rally such as a drivex

7    need more of a challenge, try performance co-driving

8    try entry level driving in performance rallying

9    move up to open class

10  try US events, etc.

Of course not all people follow this path right up to step 10  Some are comfortable stopping a certain level depending on risk level, finances, family committments, etc. Some people are more interested in organizing, co-driving, etc.  To each his own.

And that's perfectly OK.

But I think, in order to increase car counts in rallying, you to have to have a product that appeals to rallyist for each level.

And I think there are obvious gaps.

Personally,  I think there should be way more emphasis on training and just plain practices, or seat time.

4 rally-X's at four runs each x 1 minute a run = 16 minutes of seat time a year.

That won't produce the next rally champion.