Maple Leaf Rally Club

HomeHelpSearchLoginRegister  

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
RALLYCROSS!!!!! (Read 7266 times)
Donnie

RALLYCROSS!!!!!
02/21/9 at 12:53:15

Hi everyone i am new to rallycross and have a couple of questions with regard to tires that i would like to post,I ran in January and February and enjoyed the racing very much, the tire answer was quite easy to come up with, good winter tires and tractionize the crap out of them.Now i can foresee the summer being quite a different story gavel, sand, mud etc..My question is this?Considering the fact that i run on a shoe string budget and can't afford or have access to proper gravel tires is there a reasonable alternative to this problem?? Also I'm limited with regard to size also 175/70r14 to 185/60r14 is about all i can use and still have full travel in the suspension department????I would appreciate any input you fella's can give Donnie Smiley

1989 Isuzu I-Mark
1993 Plymouth Laser RS Turbo/AWD
  IP Logged
Dave Cotie
God Member

North Bay, Ontario
Re: RALLYCROSS!!!!!
Reply #1 - 02/21/9 at 14:20:22

Snow Tires (not Ice Tires), something with a open tread pattern. Don't tractionize them. Tubes work out well and higher pressures to stop the soft sidewalls from rolling over.

Dave Cotie
VA3 COT
  IP Logged
nhibbert

Reply #2 - 02/21/9 at 15:29:00

Try scouting a few wrecking yards like Standard Auto Wreckers in Toronto for a set of use winter tires. You might luck out and find a wrecked car that has four usable snow tires already mounted on rims that fit your car.

In the past I've used a set of old Hakka's (mix of H1's and H2's) with tubes in them. Prior to putting tubes in I would pull a tire off the rim at almost every event.

Norman
VE3HWL
  IP Logged
j_gardhouse
YaBB Administrator

On hiatus - drinking
the two wheeled
koolaid.

Reply #3 - 02/21/9 at 17:22:31

I ran my first year with my fathers car on old yokohama Ice Guards. Big heavy VW sedan.

Never got a flat!