Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
New To The Game (Read 9335 times)
Crazy
YaBB Newbies

Mississauga, On
New To The Game
01/20/10 at 22:50:50

Hi everyone. I’m sorry if I’m asking questions that have already been answered. I’m just getting in to the whole rally racing and I had a couple of questions that I would like to ask to a more experienced crowd would actually do the sport, Vs the people that watch it on Youtube and think they know everything. So first of all, I am hoping to participate in the January 25 Mini Rally race (100km), that’s being held in Bradford, Ontario. I am planning to use my everyday driver and my only car that I own. (2004 Mitsubishi Ralliart) Since I’ve never done this before, I have no idea how bad the road conditions are and how much damage it will do to my car. Could anyone people give me an idea? Chipped paint? Dented doors? Half of my car missing by the end out the race? The next thing I would like to ask is does anyone know what I should be expecting? Like are the courses usually half dirt, half pavement? Or All pavement?  And the last thing I would ask for is could someone please recommend a decent tire that will do a good job. It doesn’t have to be the best tire in the world. I just want to start small. Thanks for the help.

IP Logged
Dave Cotie
God Member

North Bay, Ontario
Re: New To The Game
Reply #1 - 01/20/10 at 23:37:49

The Mini-Rallies are TSD (Time, Speed, Distance) or navigational rallies. They are NOT RACES! The max speed allowed is always at least 10% under the actual speed limit.

I have not entered one before, however it is my understanding that you can use your daily-driver and it should be just fine. It should not be damaged unless you run into something.

Tires - make sure you have snow tires. Even cheapies are better than all-seasons. Canadian Tire Nordics have worked well for me. I currently run Michelin X-Ice, good on ice, not great in snow.

Dave Cotie
VA3 COT
  IP Logged
Crazy
YaBB Newbies

Mississauga, On