Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Maple Leaf Rally Club

HomeHelpSearchLoginRegister  

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Traffic Light experiment (Read 6493 times)
Robert Roaldi

Check your mirrors.

Ottawa, Ontario
Traffic Light experiment
03/05/11 at 09:40:46

Want to see what happens when you shut down traffic lights?

http://www.wimp.com/trafficlights/

IP Logged
nhibbert

Re: Traffic Light experiment
Reply #1 - 03/05/11 at 18:54:38

That's interesting. I'm going to send that link to a couple of traffic engineers I know.

Norman
VE3HWL
  IP Logged
suprf1y
YaBB Newbies

That Suzuki guy

Reply #2 - 03/05/11 at 23:49:29

I've been bitching about lights for 30 years, and in that time it's only gotten worse. Lot's of traffic lights makes for bad traffic, and bad drivers.

The place I go on vacation has few lights, NO stop signs, and traffic moves all the time. Have a look next time you're out. Would it be a tragedy to replace stop signs (and lights) with either nothing, or a yield sign?

I/PS land speed record holder
3TECH PERFORMANCE
  IP Logged
Napping

Georgetown
Reply #3 - 03/07/11 at 13:49:09

excessive stop signs even worse. in 90% places yield sign would suffice.

Napping aka Yevgeniy
Napping yevgeniy.gospodinov   IP Logged
gully

I love YaBB 1G -
SP1!

Reply #4 - 03/07/11 at 19:06:17

Peterborough is perhaps Canadas capital for all way stops

IF people understand them they are no problem its just the little old lady who cannot makeup her mind if its her turn

I have one intersection I use frequently nearly all ways two cars in each direction. Basically you have a roll up and go most of the time

There are some traffic lights which would be better served by Allways IMO

Pete g

Pete G
  IP Logged
Da_Moose
YaBB Newbies

Reply #5 - 03/07/11 at 22:03:14

Even better would be round-a-bouts, never have to stop unless you're path is blocked.

Plus they're great fun when your bored!! Cheesy

IP Logged
Dave Cotie
God Member

North Bay, Ontario