Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Maple Leaf Rally Club

HomeHelpSearchLoginRegister  

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
How does insurance work... does it? (Read 8242 times)
Doom
YaBB Newbies

How does insurance work... does it?
08/08/11 at 12:08:30

Hi, I'm very very very new to the rally world and am just putting together my plan for getting a car, training etc.

What I can't figure out is how insurance works... or doesn't. Firstly, if I turbo charge a car, most insurance will cancel me for adding a speed/performance enhancing mod.

Second, as soon as I race my insurance is invalid as is the rules in Ontario.

So how does it work? Do you just sign away your rights when you enter a race? Or do you not insure your race car?

Any info would be greatly appreciated, or if there's an insurance carrier who specializes in this kind of thing I'd love to know their name.

Thank you very very much!

IP Logged
Anthony_T

Re: How does insurance work... does it?
Reply #1 - 08/08/11 at 22:25:20

This is a complicated question - some people may hesitate chiming in.  I am not sure there is a consensus as to what is the 'proper' or 'legal' way to insure a rally car (though this may have changed in the past couple years).

I would approach a professional rally prep shop to see what they are currently doing for insurance.

WWW   IP Logged
DaveM
YaBB Newbies

'83 Volvo 244 GLT
Turbo

Pefferlaw
Reply #2 - 08/09/11 at 15:34:36

Talk to your insurance agent.  You will most likely have to insure the car under Facility insurance (the same expensive type that people who have horrendous driving records and / or DUI convictions need to get.  Many companies do not provide this so you may need to call around to a few different agents.